TiVo recording wrong channel

General Discussion

TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby The maverick » Thu Dec 09, 2021 4:53 pm

TiVo is more often than not recording the incorrect channel. Switching channels in Live TV seems like its randomly generating a 1/2 digit number for the channel.

Can anyone help?
The maverick
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 6:30 pm

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby Pegasus » Fri Dec 10, 2021 9:43 am

You don't say on what TiVo is changing - Sky box? Feeview box? But generally these errors are caused by an incorrectly positioned infra-red emitter.
Pegasus
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:31 pm
Location: Rugby

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby The maverick » Fri Dec 10, 2021 10:52 am

Deleted text
Attachments
tivo.jpg
tivo.jpg (96.02 KiB) Viewed 47818 times
The maverick
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 6:30 pm

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby The maverick » Fri Dec 10, 2021 11:56 am

Sky digibox. I( think the infra red cables are correct?
The maverick
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 6:30 pm

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby Pegasus » Fri Dec 10, 2021 3:53 pm

What have you tried?

( Have you tried repositioning the IR cable'? Have you tried 'hiding' one of the two IRs? )

Does TiVo change the Freeview channels on the Humax ok?
Pegasus
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:31 pm
Location: Rugby

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby The maverick » Sun Dec 12, 2021 7:55 pm

Are the IR cables in the right place?

The Humax is unused I didn't find it easy to use and now I would have to start from scratch to get it connected and working.

Anything else I can try Pegasus?
The maverick
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 6:30 pm

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby Pegasus » Mon Dec 13, 2021 9:33 am

The IR cable is effectively a remote control (like the handset but without the buttons). So the LED on the front needs to point roughly at the IR receiver on the Sky box, which I assume is at the bottom centre of the Sky box.

Does changing channels with the Sky remote work correctly?


(You have 3 possible sources of failure and you will have to identify which one it is: (a) Sky box, (b) IR cable, (c) TiVo )
Pegasus
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:31 pm
Location: Rugby

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby The maverick » Mon Dec 13, 2021 10:26 am

Yes the skybox is working fine. When watching live tv in Tivo it gets the right channel about 2 times out of 3. When it selects the wrong channel eg if I type 103 then 3-- comes up.
The maverick
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 6:30 pm

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby Pegasus » Mon Dec 13, 2021 11:00 am

I assume you've tried moving the IR cable so it sits below the Sky box, instead of above it?
Pegasus
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:31 pm
Location: Rugby

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby The maverick » Mon Dec 13, 2021 11:39 am

Yes I have recently done that.
The maverick
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 6:30 pm

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby Pegasus » Mon Dec 13, 2021 12:49 pm

Is this a new set-up? Or one that was previously working satis.?
Pegasus
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:31 pm
Location: Rugby

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby The maverick » Mon Dec 13, 2021 1:42 pm

This is the new set up which you helped me with. It was working fine till about 2/3 weeks ago.
The maverick
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 6:30 pm

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby Pegasus » Mon Dec 13, 2021 2:55 pm

So has anything changed since 2-3 weeks ago? Any new equipment - e.g. new television? Remove the batteries from the Sky remote - does TiVo work now? (I'm looking for interference from other remotes)
Pegasus
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:31 pm
Location: Rugby

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby The maverick » Mon Dec 13, 2021 3:04 pm

There are 3 tivo remotes and 2 sky remotes in the bowl of remotes, it was this way when it worked.
The maverick
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 6:30 pm

Re: TiVo recording wrong channel

Postby Pegasus » Mon Dec 13, 2021 3:49 pm

Remove (from the room) all bar one TiVo remote, and try to change Live TV channel with it.
Pegasus
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:31 pm
Location: Rugby

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron