Problem downloading recordings to laptop

General Discussion

Problem downloading recordings to laptop

Postby reh » Wed Oct 19, 2022 6:59 pm

I have three 1hr recordings that I'd like to download to my (Windows 8.1) laptop. I've never tried this before, but various posts make it sound like it should be straightforward via the ty or tmf links shown alongside the recordings in TiVoWebPlus (v2.1.b3). I tried first on a 5min test recording, and was able to download the ty file for that OK. But I can't successfully download the longer recordings. I've tried both ty and tmf on a couple of the recordings and, after about 30mins of downloading, it gets to '2.6/2.6GB 0 secs left', then immediately reverts to '0.0/2.6GB 30 mins left' (repeatedly). Any ideas why this might be happening or how I can fix it?

I'm happy to just have it to play on my laptop, so I figured I didn't need anything like TyTool on my laptop. But I wondered if it might manage the downloads better, so I have also tried downloading and running TyTool (TiVo Client Alpha # 10 rel 4). But when I try to start tserver, it connects to the IP address but then pops up with the error message "TyTool tserver error | Starting the server failed. Never received the telnet prompt. Please check your settings and try again". If this route might help, any idea how to fix this error?

Thanks in advance, Ruth
reh
Almost there...
Almost there...

Re: Problem downloading recordings to laptop

Postby Pegasus » Thu Oct 20, 2022 7:44 am

after about 30mins of downloading, it gets to '2.6/2.6GB 0 secs left', then immediately reverts to '0.0/2.6GB 30 mins left' (repeatedly).

I've noticed some browsers do that when downloading files from some sites (not just TiVo - it's a more general thing). It's like the browser is expecting some sort of "I'm done" message, which it is not getting, so it starts again! Trying a different browser (if you have one) might help.