Tivo rebooting "randomly"

General Discussion

Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby philguk » Fri Jan 06, 2023 9:27 pm

I recently changed my Sky box (the old one died), and since then Tivo has been rebooting on an almost daily basis. At seemingly random times

I've looked in the logs, but don't see anything that means much to me

The kernel log says:
Code: Select all
Jan 6 14:38:03 (none) kernel: tcp_keepalive: call keepopen(0x80c1c640)
Jan 6 14:39:18 (none) kernel: tcp_keepalive: call keepopen(0x80c1c640)
Jan 6 14:40:33 (none) kernel: tcp_keepalive: call keepopen(0x80c1c640)
Jan 6 14:41:38 (none) kernel: Tmk Assertion Failure:
Jan 6 14:41:38 (none) kernel: ReWork, line 935 ()
Jan 6 14:41:38 (none) kernel: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread Mediaswitch0 <157> died due to signal -2
Jan 1 00:03:57 (none) kernel: Cannot find map file.
Jan 1 00:03:57 (none) kernel: Loaded 29 symbols from 9 modules.
Jan 1 00:03:57 (none) kernel: Old MediaSwitch address map
Jan 1 00:03:57 (none) kernel: Memory configured for 16MB
Jan 1 00:03:57 (none) kernel: CPU clock speed: 54MHz
Jan 1 00:03:57 (none) kernel: ^MTeleworld Customer Device Starting Up!


and tverr just says:
Code: Select all
Jan 6 14:41:38 (none) TmkAssertionFailure[157]: (ReWork, line 935 ())
Jan 6 14:41:38 (none) Mediaswitch0[157]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread Mediaswitch0 <157> died due to signal -2
Jan 6 14:41:38 (none) Mediaswitch0[157]: Tmk Thread Backtrace: 1a344ec 1a32a44 1b6119c 1b627d8 1b61fe4 1c1cf84 1c1d1fc 1c23c84 1c23df4 1c27364 1c28374 1c28420 1c27504 1c1c4c4 1c10004 1c0fd2c 1c0e1a8 1c06ea0 1bf7094 1c239b0 1c2764c 1c28374 1c28420 1c27748 1c2379c 1c24388 1c2400c 1bf6b00 1c28af4 1800134 ipe
Jan 6 14:41:38 (none) Mediaswitch0[157]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread died due to signal -2
Jan 6 14:41:38 (none) Mediaswitch0[157]: Invoking rule 834: rebooting system
Jan 6 17:29:27 (none) TmkSink::Trace[163]: Invalid VBI packet in the stream. Igno


Does this mean anything to anyone else??

Of course, switching to a new Sky box may well be a red herring (at first I thought it was the Sky box going into standby that was causing the Tivo reboots, but since I stopped the standby Tivo still reboots)

I've also noticed (another red herring??) that sometimes when I switch the TV on to the Tivo channel, I get that blue screen that says "no signal" or words to that effect. But if I send a channel command with the Tivo remote, it "wakes up" again

Open to any and all suggestions :(
philguk
Almost there...
Almost there...
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 3:25 pm

Re: Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby Pegasus » Sat Jan 07, 2023 9:22 am

My first thought would be to check the cables, especially the scart cable. (sorry :( )
Pegasus
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:31 pm
Location: Rugby

Re: Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby philguk » Sat Jan 07, 2023 9:25 am

Pegasus wrote:My first thought would be to check the cables, especially the scart cable. (sorry :( )

I did wonder about that. I’ll have a rummage later :(
philguk
Almost there...
Almost there...
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 3:25 pm

Re: Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby philguk » Sun Jan 08, 2023 6:45 pm

philguk wrote:
Pegasus wrote:My first thought would be to check the cables, especially the scart cable. (sorry :( )

I did wonder about that. I’ll have a rummage later :(

We’ll, so far as I can “feel” everything appears well seated - TiVo is still rebooting

I have a replacement “spare” Sky box on the way - I’ll be making sure it works so that gives me another opportunity to check the cables

Unless it’s something else…….

This seems to have started happening since my old Sky box died - which was due to a power outage. I’m just a little worried that the TiVo file system now needs checking. And from what I’ve read in the past, that’s not for the faint hearted. DailyMail does a SMART check every day, and that still gets a “pass”, so happy that the drive is physically healthy
philguk
Almost there...
Almost there...
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 3:25 pm

Re: Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby Pegasus » Mon Jan 09, 2023 7:48 am

Running a disk check is straightforward. Since you have Telnet access you can login to your TiVo and type

Code: Select all
   mfsassert  -please

TiVo will then reboot and run the disk check (green screen).
Pegasus
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:31 pm
Location: Rugby

Re: Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby philguk » Mon Jan 09, 2023 9:14 am

Pegasus wrote:Running a disk check is straightforward. Since you have Telnet access you can login to your TiVo and type

Code: Select all
   mfsassert  -please

TiVo will then reboot and run the disk check (green screen).

Yeah - I kind of have this morbid fear of the green screen

What if I don’t get TiVo back again :(
philguk
Almost there...
Almost there...
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 3:25 pm

Re: Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby philguk » Mon Jan 09, 2023 12:37 pm

Pegasus wrote:Running a disk check is straightforward. Since you have Telnet access you can login to your TiVo and type

Code: Select all
   mfsassert  -please

TiVo will then reboot and run the disk check (green screen).

Is there a “read only” mfassert - just to see if there ARE any problems

Kind of like chkdsk without the /f (fix) switch?
philguk
Almost there...
Almost there...
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 3:25 pm

Re: Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby Pegasus » Mon Jan 09, 2023 12:55 pm

Not that I'm aware of.
Pegasus
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:31 pm
Location: Rugby

Re: Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby philguk » Mon Jan 09, 2023 2:36 pm

Pegasus wrote:Not that I'm aware of.

And I realised after I asked that msfassert isn’t actually doing the check, it seems to just flag to TiVo that a file system check IS needed

But I’m still very wary of the GSOD. I may wait until my other Sky box arrives and remove that herring from the equation
philguk
Almost there...
Almost there...
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 3:25 pm

Re: Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby philguk » Mon Jan 09, 2023 9:22 pm

philguk wrote:
Pegasus wrote:Not that I'm aware of.

And I realised after I asked that msfassert isn’t actually doing the check, it seems to just flag to TiVo that a file system check IS needed

But I’m still very wary of the GSOD. I may wait until my other Sky box arrives and remove that herring from the equation


Oops

Just noticed that the Sky box was still intermittently going into standby…….. Seems I may have omitted to “save” the change when I turned it off

Idiot

Let’s see if that makes any difference
philguk
Almost there...
Almost there...
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 3:25 pm

Re: Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby Pegasus » Tue Jan 10, 2023 7:50 am

Seems I may have omitted to “save” the change when I turned it off

Yep done that myself a few times. :(
Pegasus
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:31 pm
Location: Rugby

Re: Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby philguk » Tue Jan 10, 2023 7:34 pm

Fingers Crossed

TiVo's been up for 18 hours - the longest since I swapped Sky boxes

Trying not to temp fate but it IS starting to look like the Sky box going into standby was freaking Tivo out!!
philguk
Almost there...
Almost there...
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 3:25 pm

Re: Tivo rebooting "randomly"

Postby philguk » Fri Jan 13, 2023 10:08 am

philguk wrote:Fingers Crossed

TiVo's been up for 18 hours - the longest since I swapped Sky boxes

Trying not to temp fate but it IS starting to look like the Sky box going into standby was freaking Tivo out!!

Now been up for over four days!

Looks like problem licked

Thanks all
philguk
Almost there...
Almost there...
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 3:25 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest